Understanding Extension for School-Based Agricultural Education #1: Extension 101
Solutions for your Life billboard. UF/IFAS File Photo.
Requires Subscription view on EDIS
Requires Subscription PDF-2020

Keywords

Extension
Agricultural Education
Agriculture Educators

How to Cite

Barry, Debra, John Diaz, Alyssa Shepherd, Jennifer Patton, and Stephen Gran. 2020. “Understanding Extension for School-Based Agricultural Education #1: Extension 101”. EDIS 2020 (6). https://doi.org/10.32473/edis-wc372-2020.

Abstract

This article and series were designed primarily for use by secondary agriscience teachers in school-based agricultural education programs (SBAE) to help build a strong understanding of Extension and the role of Extension professionals. An important part of access and use of Extension services is understanding its background, structure, and function. This initial publication in the Understanding Extension for School-Based Agricultural Education series provides agricultural educators and the general public with a basic understanding of Extension. This new 4-page publication of the Department of Agricultural Education and Communication was written by Debra Barry, John Diaz, Alyssa Shepherd, Jennifer Patton, and Stephen Gran.
https://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/wc372

https://doi.org/10.32473/edis-wc372-2020
Requires Subscription view on EDIS
Requires Subscription PDF-2020

References

FAMU College of Agriculture and Food Science. (2019, July 12). Cooperative Extension Program. http://www.famu.edu/index.cfm?cooperativeextension

Hillsborough County Government. (2018, May 30). Extension Service. https://www.hillsboroughcounty.org/government/departments/extension

Israel, G. D., Harder, A., & Brodeur, C. W. (2011). What Is an Extension Program? WC108. Gainesville: University of Florida Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences. https://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/wc108

UF/IFAS. (2018, May 21). Solutions for Your Life - Real Solutions for Real Life. http://sfyl.ifas.ufl.edu/

UF/IFAS. (2019, May 29). Office of District Extension Directors. http://ded.ifas.ufl.edu/faculty_ranks/general_agent.shtml

UF/IFAS. (2020a, April 8). UF/IFAS Maps. https://branding.ifas.ufl.edu/ufifas-maps/

UF/IFAS. (2020b, April 16). Extension Services, Programs & Resources. https://sfyl.ifas.ufl.edu/who-we-are/extension-services/

UF/IFAS. (2020c, April 21). Agriculture. http://sfyl.ifas.ufl.edu/agriculture/

UF/IFAS. (2020d, April 21). Family Resources. http://sfyl.ifas.ufl.edu/family-resources/

UF/IFAS. (2020e, April 21). Lawn and Garden. http://sfyl.ifas.ufl.edu/lawn-and-garden/

UF/IFAS. (2020f, April 21). 4-H Youth Development. http://sfyl.ifas.ufl.edu/4-h-youth-development/

UF/IFAS. (2020g, September 21). About Extension. http://sfyl.ifas.ufl.edu/who-we-are/about-extension/

UF/IFAS. (2020h, September 21). Facilities. https://ifas.ufl.edu/facilities/

UF/IFAS. (2020i, September 28). About SolutionForYourLife.com. http://sfyl.ifas.ufl.edu/who-we-are/about-this-site/

USDA/NIFA. (2020, April 16). Extension. https://nifa.usda.gov/extension

Copyright (c) 2020 UF/IFAS