Award Lecture: Synergism Between Research and Teaching In Separations


  • Phillip C. Wankat Purdue University


No abstract available.

Author Biography

Phillip C. Wankat, Purdue University

Phillip C. Wankat is Professor of Chemical Engineering at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana, where he has been since 1970. He received his BSChE from Purdue and his MA and PhD degrees in Chemical Engineering from Princeton University. In 1982 he also received an MS in Education from Purdue. He was Head of Freshman Engineering at Purdue from 1987 to 1995 and its Interim Director of Continuing Engineering Education in 1996.

Professor Wankat is interested in research in separations with an emphasis on adsorption, chromatography, and distillation. He is the Editor-in-Chief for Separation and Purification Methods and is the author of Large Scale Adsorption and Chromatography (CRC Press, 1986), Equilibrium-Staged Separations (Prentice-Hall, 1987), and Rate-Controlled Separations (Chapman-Hall, 1990). He has published over 100 technical papers and ten technical book chapters. He received the ACS Award in Separation Science and Technology in 1994 and is a Fellow of AIChE and ASEE. He is the Co-Editor (with Dr. Kent Knaebel) of a new section on "Mass Transfer" in the 7th edition of Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook.

Professor Wankat is interested in teaching improvement and is the co-author (with Dr. Frank Oreovicz) of Teaching Engineering (McGraw-Hill, 1993). He and Frank have co-taught a course for PhD students, "Educational Methods in Engineering" at Purdue since 1983. He has published over thirty articles on engineering education and is the Associate Editor of the journal Chemical Engineering Education. He frequently presents teaching improvement seminars and workshops. He has won several teaching and counseling awards at Purdue in addition to the Dow Outstanding Young Faculty Award, the Western Electric Award, the George Westinghouse Award, and the Chester F. Carlson Award, all from ASEE, and the Chemical Manufacturer's Catalyst Award.