JOURNAL OF NEMATOLOGY

THE OFFICIAL JOURNAL OF THE SOCIETY OF NEMATOLOGISTS

EDITORIAL BOARD

Editor-in-Chief

Ernest C. Bernard 1999. The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

Senior Editor

Bradley C. Hyman 1999. University of California, Riverside, CA

Editors

Kenneth Evans 1999. IACR-Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden, Herts, UK Parwinder Grewal 2001. The Ohio State University, Wooster, OH Terry L. Kirkpatrick 2001. Southwest Research and Extension Center, Hope, AR Susan L. Meyer 1999. USDA ARS, Nematology Lab, Beltsville, MD Terry L. Niblack 1999. University of Missouri, Columbia, MO Forest Robinson 1999. USDA ARS, College Station, TX Stephen H. Thomas 1999. New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, NM Lawrence D. Young 2000. USDA ARS, Jackson, TN

Associate Editors

George Abawi 2000. NY Agricultural Experiment Station, Geneva, NY Guy Belair 1999. Agriculture Canada, St.-Jean-Sur-Rich, Quebec David McK. Bird 1999. North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC Mark L. Blaxter 1999. University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK Brian Boag 2000. Scottish Crop Research Institute, Dundee, UK Senyu Chen 1999. University of Minnesota, Waseca, MN John Chitambar 1999. California Department of Food and Agriculture, Sacramento, CA Eric L. Davis 1999. North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC Robert Hackney 2000. California Department of Food and Agriculture, Sacramento, CA Zafar Handoo 2000. USDA ARS, Beltsville, MD E. P. Masler 2000. USDA ARS, Beltsville, MD Robert McSorley 1999. University of Florida, Gainesville, FL Deborah Neher 2000. University of Toledo, Toledo, OH Khuong Nguyen 1999. University of Florida, Gainesville, FL Robert K. Niles 1999. Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO Andrew Nyczepir 2000. USDA ARS, Byron, GA Daniel Orion 2000. The Volcani Center, Bet-Dagan, Israel John W. Potter 1999. Agriculture Canada, Vineland, Ontario Laura Powers 1999. Eastern Mennonite University, Harrisonburg, VA David Rickard 1999. Mannatech Services, Westfield, IN Patricia Timper 1999. USDA ARS, Tifton, GA Terry A. Wheeler 1999. Texas Agricultural Experiment Station, Lubbock, TX

Technical Editor

Patricia L. McGhee, Atlantic Beach, FL

Editorial Assistant

Sonya R. Dexter, Knoxville, TN

Published by The Society of Nematologists

President: Thierry C. Vrain President-Elect: Robert I. Bolla Vice-President: Andrew P. Nyczepir Secretary: Ann E. MacGuidwin Treasurer: Terry L. Niblack Past-President: James G. Baldwin Editor-in-Chief: Ernest C. Bernard Newsletter Editor: Edward C. McGawley Executive Member: Edward P. Caswell-Chen Executive Member: Bradley C. Hyman Executive Member: Haddish Melakeberhan

The Journal of Nematology (ISSN 0022-300X) is published quarterly (with an annual supplement) by the Society of Nematologists. Periodical postage paid at Lawrence, KS. **Postmaster:** Send change of address to Society of Nematologists, P.O. Box 1897, Lawrence, KS 66044-8897. Inquiries concerning subscriptions, availability of back issues, membership in the Society of Nematologists, and changes of address should be sent to the same address. For this and other information, visit the Society's website: http://www.ianr.unl.edu/son/.

Mention of a pesticide, cultivar, or commercial or proprietary product does not constitute a recommendation or an endorsement of its use by editors, author(s), their institutions, or the Society of Nematologists. Authors are responsible for statements made in the Journal and Supplement, whether of fact or opinion.

Printed by The Sheridan Press, 450 Fame Ave., Hanover, PA 17331. The Journal is indexed by Kathleen K. Leabo, Marathon, FL.