# **JOURNAL OF NEMATOLOGY**

The official Journal of the Society of Nematologists

#### EDITORIAL BOARD

## **Editor-in-Chief**

James L. Starr 2005. Texas A&M University, College Station, TX

## **Editors**

Keith Davies 2005. IACR-Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden, Herts UK James A. LaMondia 2005. Connecticut Agricultural Experimental Station, Windsor, CT Robert T. Robbins 2005. University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR Philip A. Roberts 2005. University of California, Riverside, CA Andrea M. Skantar 2005. USDA-ARS, Beltsville, MD S. Patricia Stock 2005. University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ Gregor W. Yeates 2007. Landcare Research, Palmerston North, New Zealand

### **Technical Editor**

Patricia L. McGhee, Atlantic Beach, FL

#### **Editorial Assistant**

Patsy Bolch, Bryan, TX

## Published by The Society of Nematologists

President: Terry Niblack President-Elect: Saad Hafez Vice-President: An MacGuidwin Secretary: Brent S. Sipes Treasurer: Russell Ingham Past-President: Robin Giblin-Davis Editor-in-Chief: James L. Starr Newsletter Editor: Patricia Timper Executive Member: Dorota L. Porazinska Executive Member: Deborah Neher Executive Member: Bradley Hyman

The Journal of Nematology (ISSN 0022-300X) is published quarterly by the Society of Nematologists. Periodical postage paid at Marceline, MO and additional Post Offices. **Postmaster:** Send change of address to Society of Nematologists, P.O. Box 311, Marceline, MO 64658. E-mail: son@mcmsys.com. Inquiries concerning subscriptions, availability of back issues, membership in The Society of Nematologists, and changes of address should be sent to the same address. For this and other information, visit the Society's website: http://www.nematologists.org

Mention of a pesticide, cultivar, or commercial or proprietary product does not constitute a recommendation or an endorsement of its use by editors, author(s), their institutions, or The Society of Nematologists. Authors are responsible for statements made in the Journal and Supplement, whether of fact or opinion.

Printed by The Sheridan Press, 450 Fame Ave., Hanover, PA 17331. The Journal is indexed by Kathleen K. Leabo, Port Lavaca, TX.

COVER—Transcriptional organization of the *Thaumamermis cosgrovei* mitochondrial genome. All genes (colored boxes) are encoded on the same strand except NADH dehydrogenase subunits 3 and 4L (arrowheads). Unique to this mitochondrial DNA is a large hypervariable region (hatched) identified using a rolling circle amplification technique described on page 236 of this issue. Map provided by S. Tang, M. Maduro, and B. Hyman.