The Florida Geographer

The Florida Society of Geographers

The Florida Society of Geographers was chartered in 1964 as a non-profit organization for the purpose of furthering professionalism in geography through application of geographic techniques in all areas of education, government, and business. The Society supports these objectives by promoting acquaintance and discussion among its members and with scholars and practitioners in related fields by stimulating research and field investigation, by encouraging publication of scholarly studies, and by performing services to aid the advancement of its members and the field of geography in Florida. Since 1996 the Florida Geographical Alliance, whose mission is to support geographical education in grades K through 12, has helped pay for the publication and distribution of The Florida Geographer. All members of the Alliance receive the journal, and articles related to geographical education are enthusiastically encouraged.

The Society holds meetings once a year. At this meeting, papers are presented and matters of mutual concern to Society members are discussed. Meetings are held in different parts of the state and always include field trips to allow participants to gain first-hand knowledge through field experience. The 2010 meeting will be held **January 15-17 in Tampa**.

The Florida Geographer (ISSN 0739-0041) is published annually, normally in the fall.

Persons interested in membership in the Florida Society of Geographers should contact:

Mary Caravelis Treasurer, Florida Society of Geographers Barry University Dept. of History and Political Science 247 O'Laughlin Hall Miami Shores, FL 33161 <u>mcaravelis@mail.barry.edu</u> Regular membership is \$15 per calendar year; student membership is \$7.50. Membership includes a subscription to this journal.

2009 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dr. Bob Brinkmann, President Dr. Heidi Lannon, Vice President Dr. Mary Caravelis, Treasurer Warren MacKay, Secretary Dr. Jeanne Fillman-Richards, Executive Board Member Dr. Jennifer Gebelein, Executive Board Member Dr. Jeff Martin, Executive Board Member Dr. Corene J. Matyas, Executive Board Member Dr. Klaus Meyer-Arendt, Executive Board Member John McEwen, Student Representative Dr. Russ Ivy, Editor, The Florida Geographer James Gammack-Clark, Production Editor, The Florida Geographer

ISSN 0739-0041