PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THE 81ST ANNUAL MEETING OF THE FLORIDA ENTOMOLOGICAL SOCIETY AUGUST 3-6, 1998 SANIBEL ISLAND





Fig. 1. Outgoing President Joe Funderburk presents the gavel to incoming President John Sivinski (left).

Fig. 2. President Sivinski presents the Past President's Award to Joe Funderburk in recognition of his outstanding dedicated service as FES President for 1998.

Fig. 3. Tom Walker receives a Presidential Recognition Award for his leadership and devotion in the publication of all back issues of the *Florida Entomologist* on the Internet.

Fig. 4. Joe Eger and Ellen Thoms (not shown) receive Presidential Recognition Awards for development of the Florida Entomological Society Operating Guidelines.

Fig. 5. Pat Greany receives a Presidential Recognition Award for his leadership and devotion in the development of the Florida Entomological Society website.

674



Fig. 6. Clay McCoy receives a Presidential Recognition Award for his leadership and devotion in launching the Pioneer Lecture Award.

Fig. 7. John Capinera is presented with the 1998 Entomologist-of-the Year Award for his leadership role in entomology throughout the State of Florida.

Fig. 8. J. B. (Buster) Pratt receives the 1998 Achievement Award for Industry for his efforts and dedication in the fight against *Diaprepes abbreviatus*.

Fig. 9. Marinus van de Vrie (left), James Price (not shown), and Gordon DeCou receive the 1998 Achievement Award for Team Research for their contributions to the advancement of IPM for strawberries.

Fig. 10. President Sivinski thanks Gary Leibee for his outstanding service to the Society as Chairman of the Honors and Awards Committee.

Fig. 11. Outgoing President Funderburk is awarded a Certificate of Appreciation for his leadership in guiding the Florida Entomological Society "on-line."

675



16

17

Fig. 12. Lance Peterson receives a Certificate of Appreciation for exemplary service as Chairman of the Local Arrangements Committee for the $81^{\rm st}$ Annual Meeting.

Fig. 13. Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to Nancy Epsky (left) and Lois Wood for outstanding service as Co-Editors of the Newsletter of the FES.

Fig. 14. President Sivinski presents a Certificate of Achievement to Stephanie Dodson for winning the Junior Section of FES Special Awards at the 43^{rd} State Science and Engineering Fair of Florida.

Fig. 15. Vicky Buckles receives a Certificate of Achievement for winning the Senior Section of FES Special Awards at the 43rd State Science and Engineering Fair of Florida.

Fig. 16. Dina Richman receives a \$100 travel grant and wins 3^{rd} place in the Student Paper Competition.

Fig. 17. Deanna Branscome is awarded one of ten \$100 minigrants and receives a \$100 travel grant.

All photographs courtesy of Frank Mead

676