BROWARD LEGACY

Volume 1

July 1977

Number 4

CONTENTS

- 4 Changes In South Florida's Wetlands Ecology, by Bryan Steinberg
- 8 Ambush On The New River, introduced by Cooper Kirk
- 16 Land Lottery, by A.U. Heiney
- 23 The Barefoot Mailman, by Stuart McIver
- 28 Corn-Shuck Dolls, by Patricia Cunningham
- 30 Books: Charles H. Coe, Red Patriots. by Charlton W. Tebeau
- 31 Historical Society News Update, by Marlyn Kemper

Outside Cover: 1911 plat map of Progresso, courtesy of Fort Lauderdale Historical Society

Inside Cover: Barefoot Mailman statue, photographed by Paul Perkins

"Ancient Bridge," from 1977 Photography Contest by Don Abelson

BROWARD LEGACY STAFF

Ralph Megna, Editor-in-Chief David Landmann, Production Editor Dr. Cooper Kirk, Manuscripts Editor Carolyn Kayne, Assistant Editor Patricia Smith, Circulation Editor

ADVISORY COUNCIL on PUBLICATIONS

Bolge, Hibbard Elizabeth Casselberry, Angela Clifford, Patrick Currie, Carolyn Kayne, Marlyn Kemper, Dr. Harry Kersey, Dr. Cooper Kirk, David Landmann, Bill McGoun, Stuart McIver, Ralph Megna, James Moses, Judge L. Clayton Nance, Marjorie Patterson, William Raymond, Mary Smith, Patrica Smith, Bryan Steinberg, Carla Stiles, Dr. Leonard Tomasello, Regina Tomlinson, Genevieve Veltri, Philip Weidling, Eugene Wiley, Wilma Williams

Copyright 1977 by the Broward County Historical Commission. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be reproduced or copied in any form or by any means - graphic, electronic or mechanical including photocopying, recording, taping or information and retrieval systems without written permission of the publisher.

Broward Legacy is published quarterly by the Broward County Historical Commission, 201 S.E. 6 Street, Room 800, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33301. Single copy price, \$1.00; subscription, \$4.00 a year.

Permission is freely granted to the News Media for quotation and citation, giving credit to the publication.

Neither the Board of County Commissioners of Broward County, Florida, nor the Broward County Historical Commission are responsible for the statements, conclusions or observations herein contained, such matters being the sole responsibility of the authors.

BROWARD COUNTY Historical Commission

F.K. Walker, Chairman Wilma Williams, Vice-Chairman Elizabeth (Sue) Phillips, Secretary Cathleen Anderson Dr. Susie Holley Leonard Robbins Raymond Collier Dr. Cooper Kirk, County Historian Judge L. Clayton Nance, Advisor

BROWARD COUNTY Board of County Commissioners

Ken Jenne, Chairman Anne Kolb, Vice-Chairperson J.W. (Bill) Stevens Jack L. Moss Howard C. Forman Hugh Anderson Gerald F. Thompson